CLIENT REVIEWS

  • Sarah Windawi 4/9/2017 ★★★★★
    I hired Janet to help me sell my Victorian house based on her strong record of sales in my neighborhood. She exceeded my expectations. Her expert knowledge of real esate and the real estate market combined with her business background made her my trusted advisor throughout the whole process. I went into the process with much trepidation, having never sold a house before, and Janet made the whole process as painless as possible. Thanks to Janet, I came away with a better deal in a shorter amount of time than I had thought possible. She was very responsive to all my questions and needs. She is the first and only realtor I will recommend to friends and family and the one I will hire again.
 
  • Maria Grasso 3/24/2017 ★★★★★
  • Janet was outstanding. Bought a condo for our son who is attending Law School at Villanova. She was responsive, detail-oriented, helpful, available and knowledgeable. She went above and beyond available 24/7 Thanks Janet
     
  • Kim David 10/27/2016 ★★★★★
Janet's help to buy our house was great! Very responsive to all our questions and kept us on track. She was diligent in ensuring we met all deadlines.

  • Joann Dicks 6/22/2016 ★★★★★
    I had a great experience with Janet. She was knowledgeable and made the process of selling my home a quick and simple process. I felt comfortable contacting her at anytime knowing that she would respond promptly.

  • M Joyce Thomasson 9/16/2016 ★★★★★
Janet was great. She knew the neighborhood I was listing in. One of the things I really appreciated was that she let me maintain control, yet guided me steadily through this tedious, emotional process of home selling. Janet is very professional, very positive and very friendly and easy to work with. I would highly recommend Janet Ames. You won't be sorry! 

  • Kevin Dunn 3/5/2016 ★★★★★
Working with Janet could not have been any easier. I've been a loan officer for a long tome and she is one of the best agents I have ever worked with. She has a wealth of knowledge and was extremely flexible with my schedule. Thanks Janet!!

  • Richard Baxter 12/18/15 ★★★★★
My wife and I retained Janet as a buyers agent for purchasing a home in Lower Merion Township. Janet has excellent knowledge of the area, showing us several dozen homes over three weekends. Having settled on one, Janet demonstrated her strong knowledge of the market and negotiations in both the initial offer and following inspections, found an excellent home inspector and helped us bring in many other contractors during a 15 day inspection period, including Thanksgiving. We sometimes felt a bit rushed, and there was some friction over our selecting to do a lead inspection (which I strongly urge for those with young children), but we closed in a month and felt we got a fair price, and we still love the house! Thanks Janet!

  • Erin Youngman 10/19/2015 ★★★★★

I was in the rental market when I first met Janet. I had been using other realtors off and on for looking at homes to buy. When I realized how personalized of service and attention to detail Janet could provide, I committed to working with her exclusively. Janet is always available and goes out of her way to make sure that she is as flexible. Janet is also very knowledgeable about the process. She at times, caught things I had missed/didn’t know whether it was with the closing paperwork, or particulars about inspection items. She goes above and beyond. Home buying became a much easier process when I started working with Janet. Thanks Janet!

  • Tyson & Sarah Mott 08/19/2015 ★★★★★

Janet was extremely helpful, responsive and knowledgeable. She did a great job at finding the homes that fit our needs. It was our first time purchasing a home and she did an amazing job of patiently guiding us through the process.

  • Arnold Machles 07/13/2015 ★★★★★

Janet, I must commend you on your handling of the sale of the Tyson Avenue property for the estate I represent. I have been involved in over one hundred home sales in my career and this was one of the more difficult because of location and condition. You handled all the extra work thrust on you by Buyer’s mortgage company with efficiency and professionalism. Your help was invaluable and greatly lessened the burden on me. Again, my sincere thanks and I look forward to doing business with you on future listings.

  • Maggie Massary 06/25/2015 ★★★★★

I’ve worked with Janet over past few years both on the purchase and sale of my last house. She is a terrific agent. Always accessible, helpful, enthusiastic and very diligent. I highly recommend her. 

  • Ricardo Thomas 06/22/15 ★★★★★

Before I got on the market for a house I did my research on the home buying process. Seeing multiple people buying homes around me and their stories were not seeming that bad. All the research and stories in the world could not prepare me for what I was about to go through. Janet is very knowledgeable about the multiple facets of the process. So much so that when I did not receive the correct information she quickly advised me on the next steps to make sure I was aware of what was going on. I wouldn’t trust anyone else during this time in my wife and I lives. I do not think I would have gotten my house without her. Thanks Janet!!

  • Jason Hutchings 06/09/2015 ★★★★★

Janet was very responsive and worked at lengths to help us purchase our first home. We greatly appreciated her work ethic and attention to detail. We would highly recommend Janet if you are looking for a dedicated real estate agent who truly cares about her clients!

  • Laurel Harrish 05/19/15 ★★★★★

My husband I worked off and on with Janet over the course of two years as we tried to decide the right time to sell our first home and purchase another. We kept holding off for various personal reasons, but Janet stayed patient with us. She helped us narrow down different possible areas, helped us see potential in homes we may have overlooked and also steered us away from homes she knew wouldn’t be a good fit for our family. She stayed patient with us until the timing was right and we found a place we loved and again as we pulled out after a tough inspection and went with another property. Buying and selling at the same time, with two small kids, was beyond stressful, but Janet was always available and kept us calm as we fretted over the little stuff. I would highly recommend Janet. She’s kind, honest and very knowledgeable.

  • Jamaal W.  08/13/2014 ★★★★★

If any of you reading this take Janet as your realtor, trust and know you are in good hands. I had attempted to purchase a home for the first time in 2010. It was a nerve wrecking experience. I was clueless on steps and procedures and even what to look for when looking at a home. And my realtor at the time was more concerned with other bigger better clients. Three years later Janet took me under wing and showed me things to look out for. Her experience rang a calming to my scattered nerves. She demonstrated high regard for me and my time, and was always available to answer my questions. No matter your buying status you are equally important to Janet. very attentive, knowledgeable and flexible. If buying a home was like winning a basketball championship, sure fire team would be Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant, Lebron James, Wilt Chamberlain and Janet Ames! Happy Hunting!

  • Thomas C.  08/13/2014 ★★★★★

Janet Ames is an honest and professional realtor who finds it her duty to give quality advice and home buyer representation in every meeting. I have used Janet for years and I find her both personable and professional. If you are looking for an agent who will lobby for your BEST interest- call Janet Ames! Satisfied customer

  • Kevin S.  08/11/2014 ★★★★★

Janet has helped me and my family on two deals and she was very helpful. One was the purchase of a commercial property near East Falls and the other my primary residence in Lower Merion. Janet guided us through the inspection process and made us feel at ease during the closing process on both properties. Janet also helped steer us away from a mold infested property we thought was a bargain, but in the long run would have been a headache. I still ride past that house and say thank you we did not purchase.

  • Noel G.  07/24/2014 ★★★★★

Excellent knowledge of the area and real estate market. Very patient and understanding of my need to locate a rental in a short period of time and the best places to go in my situation, which was very helpful considering my lack of familiarity with the area, coming from out of state. Highly recommended!

  • Dan G.  07/12/2013 ★★★★★

Chose Janet to list my E Mt Airy row home in early 2013. Had met her before through other RE deals, liked her professionalism. We found a buyer but the deal got tricky due to FHA loan and buyer finickiness. She handled it all like a pro, very impressed. Smart, works hard, knows the area, very responsive. Can’t go wrong, IMHO.

  • Joe Mahlow  07/05/2014 ★★★★★

When buying a home I believe you must find a Realtor you can trust and someone who understands you. I Highly Recommend Janet Ames for all your New Home Needs!

  • Megan S.  06/03/2013 ★★★★★

My husband I and purchased our first home with Janet’s assistance. We heard of her by word of mouth from a satisfied family member. She was perfect for walking through the first time buyer.  She knows the  Philadelphia suburbs and NW neighborhoods of Philly (Chestnut Hill/Mt. Airy) really well. She was very professional, patient, and friendly.  Anytime we had a question, she knew the answer or knew where to send us for more information. Speaking of having the answers, Janet was quick to respond to emails and phone calls. She is truly dedicated to her job and loves what she does! I highly recommend her!

  • Denise  08/13/2014 ★★★★★

Janet Ames gets 10 STARS in my book. She was amazing. She was so knowledgeable, attentive to detail, tireless, sacrificial, very professional. Every concern or worry I had, she quickly quelled. Her solutions were perfect. In two years, she sold two houses for me in under a week, after being listed! It doesn’t get better than that! I recommend her to everyone I know. If I ever need to buy or sell again in the future, she will be the first person I call.

  • Erica Caitlin  05/01/2014 ★★★★★

Janet helped us with our first home purchase. She was patient and knowledgeable throughout, seeming to know everything about neighborhoods, home maintenance, and bid options. Janet helped us find an affordable home that we love. I recommend her services highly!

  • Josh M.  04/01/2014 ★★★★★

I just purchased my first home with Janet. She is incredibly knowledgeable of the industry and has great and helpful contacts to help make the process of purchasing a home as smooth and easy as possible. Janet is easy to get along with and incredibly hard working. Having never purchased a home before, I wasn’t sure what to expect along the way, but Janet was there and guided me with confidence and my best interest at heart. I would recommend Janet to friends anytime when looking to buy or sell

  • Stuart Abelson  04/01/2014 ★★★★★

Janet was very help helpful in finding an apartment to rent at the exclusive Sutton Terrace condominium. She had also assisted me in selling my 2nd home at a time when real-estate was not moving.

  • Jeanne Bethune    1/24/14 ★★★★★

I met Janet Ames through by efforts to buy a home. She provided a wealth of information as well as a thorough follow up with properties specifically targeted to my interests. Her patience and calm demeanor was impressive since historically I have encountered agents that are pushy, anxious and lofty. I felt I was in good hands with her guiding me through the real estate hunt for a property. If I had to high light what I feel is an outstanding quality specific to Janet, it would be that she is a patient listener. She gave me her complete attention, was on time for all appointments and went above and beyond in service. I have recommended her to others in their search for real estate. She remains at the top of my list.

  • Chris A.   01/15/2014 ★★★★★

Janet guided me through my first home buying experience. We looked for houses together on various weekends for 6 months. Janet was knowledgeable in all aspects of the searching process, she helped find only the houses that matched my criteria and even seemed to know what I was looking for when I didn’t know yet. Janet was patient throughout the search when I changed my mind multiple times. She was excellent in helping to steer me away from properties that were not in my best interest. When it came time for settlement I couldn’t have asked for a better realtor. Janet knows and can recommend the most knowledgeable and friendly mortgage brokers, home inspector and even contractors if needed. She was able to negotiate a fair price for both me and the seller. Throughout the entire home buying process Janet remained in constant contact. I cannot emphasize how nice it was to work with her. I never felt that she was pressuring me to get into a house that wasn’t perfect for me. I would recommend her services to any home buyer. I will definitely work with her again if the opportunity arises.

  • dlduncan2003  01/13/2014 ★★★★★

Janet is a wonderful agent and has helped me through several deals. She is thorough and knowledgeable. We have closed over 10 properties (as buyer and seller) in the Philadelphia area. These have primarily been investment properties but Janet most recently helped my wife and I close on our personal home. I’d highly recommend Janet!

  • dwmosley  01/01/2014 ★★★★★

Janet is a sweetie, recommended to us by some friends. She was great as we looked at lots of homes in different areas. I felt like she could have been more helpful in the negotiating process, but by then we had been looking so long – we didn’t feel like squabbling much over the price. In hindsight, we probably should have? After 4-5 months of looking (just wasn’t a lot of inventory that fit our needs), sometimes you’re not sure how rational you’re being in that final negotiation, especially if you are targeting a particular neighborhood. We bought during the housing crash, but prices were sort of still falling at the time? My wife was a second time buyer, and I was a first time buyer. With all that said, with Janet, we ended up buying a smaller house than we expected, and she didn’t bat an eye – no pushing us to go for the bigger houses.

  • biznice  08/12/2013 ★★★★★

Janet was always available when I needed to talk, she made the extra effort to make sure my house was ready to show, and her knowledge, patience and skill at negotiations all made my experience outstanding in what otherwise could have been a very stressful ordeal in selling my house.

  • user3807536  07/12/2013 ★★★★★

Janet helped me sell a row home recently in East Mt Airy. Found a buyer and the deal got tricky due to FHA loans and buyer finickiness, but she maneuvered us through choppy waters like a pro! Honest, smart, competent, responsive. Couldn’t ask for a better experience.

  • danny  07/12/2013 ★★★★★

Met Janet through other RE transactions in Philly. When it was time to sell my E Mt Airy row home, chose her as listing agent. Couldn’t have gone better. She’s a pro, she’s smart, she knows the area, and very responsive. Also navigated us through some tricky deal glitches like a pro. Couldn’t ask for better.

  • Megan  06/03/2013 ★★★★★

Janet was great! She was perfect for the first time homebuyer because she was so patient and knowledgeable. She really explained things very clearly and quickly responded to any emails or phone calls. She helped us find something very cute and within our budget as it was hitting the market! She understood what we wanted and what would be perfect for us I think before we even did!

  • Barbara W.  03/13/2013 ★★★★★

Janet was the first realtor who responded to my Internet inquiry, and we have been a well-oiled team ever since. After just a short conversation, she had a full grasp of my property needs, and immediately put together a variety of properties for me to review. Janet has in-depth knowledge of real estate – current and developing trends, neighborhood specific characteristics, financing practices/possibilities, has a vast knowledge of building mechanics, has many contacts in the real estate business, and eagerly shares this information. Janet’s assiduous attention to details and open, honest and positive communication style made it possible for me to give her a huge list of properties I wanted to see one day, and she had a full roster of confirmed appointments for the next day. Janet wants all of her clients to be happy and satisfied with their purchases, and she works tirelessly to make sure this happens. I could not ask for a better real estate professional, and cannot imaging looking for and buying a property without her expertise, tireless search for properties that will interest me, encouragement, and upbeat and welcoming personality.

  • Gi Gi  09/27/2012 ★★★★★

My wife and I were introduced to Janet through one of my colleagues from work. We were convinced that we would find a home quickly and thought we knew what we were looking for in house. Of course, we were wrong. We were all over the place and touring 5 to 8 homes every other weekend. As tiring as the process was, Janet stuck with us and never pressured us into making a decision we were not prepared to do. She remained optimistic and continued to work with us until we found our perfect home. I really appreciate the time she spent with us and the guidance along the way.

  • Caroline O  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

Janet is a fantastic realtor. She really listens to what you want and tries her best to fit you to your perfect house. You feel like you are working with a professional AND a friend.

  • Susan P.  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

I was lucky enough to fall into Janet’s hands when I was looking for home in Chestnut Hill/Mt. Airy. Her knowledge of the market and her expertise in financing were invaluable — I doubt I would have found the home I am in if it weren’t for her conscientiousness and care. She is my agent for life

  • Bob & Cara L.  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

Janet has been a consummate professional and nothing but courteous in all out transactions with her. She assisted many of our friends with buying their homes with great service, and so Janet was our first choice in selling our home. She is hard-working, knowledgeable, and knows the business from personal experience and keeping up with housing trends and use of modern marketing media. I would heartily recommend her to any prospective buyer or seller!

  • Alison H.  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

Yes! Janet helped us find the home we wanted! She was patient, understanding, and knowledgeable. We would definitely work with her again.

  • Nicole P  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

We are very happy with our house and with the neighborhood. It really was a good fit for us, so thanks for all your work to get us here

  • Tim W.  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

THANK YOU for all your guidance, help and support. We appreciated your patience with us so much…We couldn’t be happier with our first home..

  • Pamela L.  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

Janet was able to find us a “diamond in the rough” –the perfect house to make our home. I feel she understood our tastes which really helped our search be much more efficient and effective

  • Julie R.  09/05/2012 ★★★★★

It was so great working with you and just getting to know you. I will most definitely strongly recommend you to others with a long and lovely list of reasons! …thank you many times over for the incredible patience and equanimity you showed throughout this process. We will be certain to refer anyone we come across to you, particularly those who have unnecessarily complicated, frustrating, and difficult situations. Seriously, I don’t think we could have gotten through the challenges we faced without your calm and practical guidance.

  • D. Neal  01/02/2012 ★★★★★

When my wife and I began searching for our new home we had our down payment, pre-approval and knew where we wanted to live. Janet walked us through the process of purchasing our new home and getting the most for our dollar. I found Janet to be knowledgeable of the market, the area and available for not only showings but to offer clarity when we were confused. When necessary she applied the aggression on other agents and the banks necessary to insure our deal met deadlines. Following our settlement Janet continues to keep us abreast of the market in our area. I strongly recommend Janet Ames.

  • Karina L.  12/17/2011 ★★★★★

Thanks for your prompt answer to my client’s interest in your area. I truly appreciate your help and have forwarded your information to him.

  • Kevin S.  11/10/2011 ★★★★★

I have worked with Janet on two deals and she was great on both. For instance, she helped me buy a commercial property for thousands less than asking. She also helped guide me away from a money pit for my home purchase.

  • Sarah L.  07/29/2011 ★★★★★

Janet helped us find the perfect house. She worked with our crazy schedule and made the whole process smooth and easy. Go with Janet for a fast, easy home buying process!

  • Aaron W.  07/28/2011 ★★★★★

I am hard person to work with, and Janet was patient and capable of guiding my enthusiasm and grounding me throughout the process. The level of trust I have for her is based in her keen understanding of all aspects of the real estate market. She both sold my house and help guide in the finding of a new property with calm and focus at a time when the market tanked. If not for her calm and realistic approach I would have had disaster with the whole process. I highly recommend her for navigating through the industry on all levels.

Janet Ames
Janet Ames
REALTOR®